Amigo Reader 2011

[PDF] Free Ebook Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift


Gulliver's Travels was written by Jonathan Swift and first published in 1726.

The original book presents itself as a simple traveller's narrative with the title Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World, in Four Parts, its authorship attributed to "Lemuel Gulliver, first a surgeon, then a captain of several ships."

Different editions contain different versions of the prefatory material.
The main body of the book is divided into four parts:
(i) A Voyage to Lilliput (May 4, 1699 - April 13, 1702);
(ii) A Voyage to Brobdingnag (June 20, 1702 - June 3, 1706);
(iii) A Voyage to Laputa, Balnibarbi, Luggnagg, Glubbdubdrib, and Japan (August 5, 1706 - April 16, 1710); and
(iv) A Voyage to the Country of the Houyhnhnms (September 7, 1710 - July 2, 1715).

Despite the complexity of the work, it is often classified as a children's story because of the popularity of the Lilliput section. Broad overall themes include a satirical view of the state of European government as well as an analysis of whether men are inherently corrupt or whether they become corrupted.

The book was an instant success and has become a classic in English literature. This publication of Gulliver's Travels is part of the Qualitas Classics Fireside Series, where pure, ageless classics are presented in clean, easy to read reprints.

Amigo Reader; January 2011
ISBN: 9781897093580
Title: Gulliver's Travels
Author: Jonathan Swift
Imprint: Amigo Reader
Language: English

Get copy of this book [new/used]

*Click add to cart and checkout, free of charge.

 Monthly Special! 
 You can claim a 20% discount on these categories: 
Music - Reference - Social Science - Technology - Transportation.
Please visit here for further details.

SKU: 732169 Category: